Corbett Prize

The Corbett Prize is awarded to a young scientist for an outstanding contribution given at the ICDS. It consists of a monetary prize and a prize certificate signed by the conference chairs. The prize is named in memory of James W. Corbett (1994), one of the pioneers in the field of defects in semiconductors, who always helped and encouraged young researchers. The prize has been awarded at every ICDS since 1995.

Candidates are required to indicate in the regular abstract submission that they wish to be considered for the Corbett Prize. The candidates must be less than 35 years of age at the first day of the conference, and must be the main contributors of the presented research in terms of ideas and actual execution of the research. The candidates are required to submit a letter (by email from candidate, Subject “Corbett Prize application”) that (1) states that he/she meets the Corbett Prize requirements (clearly indicate date of birth in the letter), (2)outlines the scientific merit of the work presented, and how it advances the field of defects in semiconductors, and (3)details of the specific contributions of the candidate to this work. Candidates are also required to provide a letter from their adviser/supervisor (by email from adviser/supervisor official email account, Subject “Corbett Prize supporting letter”) specifying the contributions of the candidate to the work that is being submitted. These two letters must be sent to no later than Friday, March 31, 2017. Only one abstract per candidate will be considered for the Corbett Prize. Invited speakers and committee members are not eligible for the prize.

Up to 8 finalists will be chosen from the candidates by a panel of judges, finalists are required to present a poster at the special poster session on Tuesday, August 1, 2017 during which the finalists will be interviewed by the judges. The judging panel assesses the presented researches based on the following criteria:

  • Scientific quality and originality of the work
  • Excellence of the candidate’s contribution
  • Knowledge and depth of understanding exhibited by the candidate

The posters will remain exhibited throughout the conference for general viewing. The winner will be announced at the conference banquet. Judges’ decisions are final and they will not enter into correspondence with individual entrants to discuss their entry or the reasons for their decisions.

Past Corbett prize winners:

2017 (Matsue, Japan):
  • Liwen Sang, Independent scientist at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 2010)
  • Elena Pascal, PhD student at University of Strathclyde
2015 (Espoo, Finland):
  • Thomas Auzelle, now scientist at Paul-Drude-Institute in Berlin, Germany (PhD in 2015)
  • Jan E. Stehr, assistant prof at Linköping University (PhD in 2011)
2013 (Bologna, Italy):
  • Daniel José da Silva, now post-doc at KU Leuven (PhD in 2014)
2011 (Nelson, New Zealand):
  • Ben Green, now research scientist at Element Six, UK (PhD in 2013)
2009 (St Petersburg, Russia):
  • Yoshihiro Gohda, now professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan (PhD in 2003)
  • Pavel Petrov, now senior scientist at Ioffe Institute, Russia (PhD in 2001)
2007 (Albuquerque, USA):
  • Fadwa El-Mellouhi, now senior scientist at Qatar Energy and Environment Research Institute, Qatar (PhD in 2006)
2005 (Awaji Island, Japan):
  • Hannes Raebiger, now professor at Yokohama National University, Japan (PhD in 2006)
  • Savas Berber, now professor at Gebze Technical University, Turkey (PhD in 2004)
  • Sukit Limpijumnong, now professor at Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand (PhD in 2000)
2003 (Aarhus, Denmark):
  • Naoki Fukata, now group leader at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 1998)
2001 (Giessen, Germany):
  • Benjamin Hourahine, now lecturer at University of Strathclyde (PhD in 2000)
1999 (California, USA):
  • Ant Ural, now professor at University of Florida (PhD in 2001)
1997 (Aveiro, Portugal):
  • Joanne E. Gower, King’s College London
  • Tomas Hallberg, Linkoping University, now Deputy Research Director at Swedish Defence Research Agency (PhD in 1995)
  • Tomi Mattila, Helsinki University of Technology, now Senior Scientist at VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (PhD in 1997)
1995 (Sendai, Japan):
  • Yasunori Mochizuki, now Vice President for Central Research Laboratories, NEC Corporation (PhD in 1987)
  • Kohei M. Itoh, now professor at Keio University, Japan (PhD in 1994)